Define Access and Logging In Settings

In the Storyteller Admin Portal, you can view and define whether your new users receive a welcome email when you create them, add custom text to that email, and define your security lockout settings.

To view and define your Access and Logging In settings:

  1. In the Storyteller Administration Portal, click Advanced Settings and then select Instance Settings in the side panel.
    For information on how to access the Admin Portal, see the About the Administration Portal article.
  2. In the Access & Logging In section:
    1. The Welcome Email for New Users checkbox is selected by default, meaning that all new users you create receive a welcome email.
      In order for Welcome Emails to be sent to new users, your Email Settings must first be configured in the Storyteller Admin Portal. For more information, please see the Email Settings article.
      To disable the welcome email, clear the checkbox.
      For more information regarding Storyteller welcome emails, see the Send New Users a Welcome Email article.
    2. In the Welcome Email Custom Text field, you can add additional, custom text in addition to the default message which appears in all welcome emails.
      This field is empty by default.
    3. Define your lockout policy by selecting an option in the Lockout Mode field.
      This setting is used to configure temporary lockouts when users enter invalid credentials a defined number of times or use non-SAML authentication.
      You can select whether lockouts are automatically reset by the system (Temporary), permanent until unlocked by an administrator (Permanent), or disabled (Off). The default setting is Temporary.
    4. If you select Temporary or Permanent, complete the following fields:
      1. In the Lockout Threshold field, define the number of failed login attempts a user can have before being locked out of Storyteller.
        The default setting is 5.
      2. In the Lockout Threshold Reset field, define the amount of time it takes to reset the lockout threshold (that is, how much time can pass before the user can re-attempt to log in to Storyteller).
        If another failed lockout occurs during this time, the Lockout Observation Window begins again.
        The default setting for this field is 1440 min / 24 hr.
      3. If you select Temporary in the Lockout Mode field, define the duration for the temporary lockout in the Temporary Lockout Duration field.
        This is the amount of time taken until the user account that has been locked out, is automatically unlocked.
        The default setting for this field is 30 min.
  3. Click Save at the bottom of the page to save and activate your changes.
    To see and experience any changes made to Instance Settings, Storyteller users have to refresh their browsers.