About Project Artifact Types

Project Artifact Types refer to the set of all artifact types that might be used in your project. The list of Project Artifact Types includes all Standard Artifact Types, Custom Artifact Types, and Sub-Artifact Types that are available within your project.

A Project Artifact Type is essentially a Custom Artifact Type at the project level.

Project Administrators with the corresponding privileges can create Custom Artifact Types to meet the needs of specific projects, providing you with significant flexibility in the way you can categorize the artifacts in a project.

To view Project Artifact Types in the Administration Portal, users must have the "View Project Configuration" privilege in their Project Administration role. For more information on Project Administrator Roles, see the Manage Project Administrator Roles article.

Standard Artifact Types, Custom Artifact Types, and Sub-Artifact Types

Custom Artifact Types are an artifact classification in Blueprint and refer to a class of artifacts that can only be used within your project.

Custom Artifact Types are different from default Sub-Artifact Types, which are automatically created per each project, and are only available within other artifacts (for example, a Shape is a sub-artifact of a Model). Project Administrators can only change which properties are available on Sub-Artifact Types.

Custom Artifacts Types are also different from Standard Artifact Types, which are defined by Instance Administrators. Project Administrators can only change whether users can create new instances of the Standard Artifact Type in the project.

When creating a new Custom Artifact Type, you can choose from a variety of base types to model your new Custom Artifact Type after, including:

  • Actor
  • Baseline
  • Baseline and Review Folder
  • Document
  • Folder
  • Glossary
  • Model
  • Process
  • Review
  • Textual Requirement

For more information on managing Project Artifact Types, click one of the following links: