Steal a Lock
Blueprint has a locking mechanism built into the platform to ensure that two users cannot change the same artifact at the same time and guarantee that you are always opening and editing the latest version of an artifact.
An artifact is locked by a user when it is modified but not published. The lock is released when the artifact is published.
Only Blueprint users with Steal Lock privileges can steal the lock from another user and edit the artifact. Users without steal lock privileges cannot modify a locked artifact and must wait until the saved changes have been published.
To steal the lock and edit a locked artifact:
- Click Steal lock under the main header.
- Click OK in the modal displayed.
All previously unpublished changes in the artifact are discarded and it can now be edited.